Greater Brighton leaders have welcomed the news that Channel 4 could be coming to the City Region.

Brighton and Hove – which forms part of the Greater Brighton region – has been shortlisted to become one of the broadcaster’s two new ‘creative hubs’.

It faces competition from Bristol, Cardiff, Glasgow, Greater Manchester, Leeds, Liverpool, the West Midlands, Belfast, Brighton, Newcastle-Gateshead, Nottingham, Sheffield and Stoke-on-Trent for the right to host Channel 4.

It comes as the broadcaster looks to move 300 staff out of London to three new bases next year in the biggest change to its structure in its 35-year history.

It invited applications from across the UK and Brighton and Hove City Council made a bid.

Councillor Andy Smith, chairman of the Greater Brighton Economic Board, said: “I’m delighted that the Greater Brighton region is in the running to become home to one of Channel 4’s new creative hubs.

“With one of the UK’s leading creative and digital sectors, an excellent existing pool of media talent and great transport links, which includes an international airport in Gatwick, the benefits are obvious. 

“I’m sure when the team from Channel 4 visit they will see that Greater Brighton is not just a great place to work, it’s a great place to live and do business in too.”

Councillor Daniel Yates, Leader of Brighton & Hove City Council and member of the Greater Brighton Economic Board, said: “We are delighted to have been shortlisted by Channel 4 as a potential home for one of two new Creative Hubs.

“We worked with our creative partners locally, and made a strong submission which focussed on our strengths as a centre for creativity and digital innovation as well as our distinctive character, which we believe aligns well with Channel 4’s brand.

“Brighton & Hove is distinctly different and as we proceed to the next stage of the pitch process, we will work with our partners to demonstrate all our city has to offer.”

Channel 4 will now visit each shortlisted city for a presentation. The final locations will be selected in October 2018.

Back to top